Twice upon a diorama set

Posted on Updated on

Mother's Day Diorama
Mother’s Day Diorama

I joined drama class rather than art or music or dance junior year in high school out of pure curiosity and appreciation for the art. And because I was not good at anything else.

WIth only a few months to end the school year, we were assigned a set diorama for any play that has been adapted into a movie. We were given the one week of Spring Break to complete the project. I, however, was at San Francisco’s very own China Town shopping with my grandparents’ over spring break. As a result, my project was poorly made over the weekend with negligible supplies available.

I was shaking at the time we had to submit the project, but my teacher made no sign of disapproval when I walked into the classroom with a fail diorama set attempting to replicate the Quidditch scene in Harry Potter. It was really ugly. I didn’t even want to look at my project so I kept it hidden as best I can by placing the larger diorama sets in front of mine. Miraculously, I got the full points for having it done.

A few weeks passed, and I still regret not putting in time and resources into the project. So I decide to do another diorama set. This one would be different though. I needed a Mother’s Day Present, and this seemed the perfect opportunity to use the idea of the diorama set designing. I spend a lot of time and effort (cutting the time I spent sleeping too) late nights to create a single masterpiece I am so proud of.

Find my ultra packet bucket list to see more crazy posts!

2 thoughts on “Twice upon a diorama set

    Jeyna Grace said:
    August 19, 2013 at 9:46 am

    Diorama, thats the first time I’m hearing that word. What is it exactly?

      friendsforeverwithyou responded:
      August 21, 2013 at 7:09 am

      Hi Jeyna! A Diorama set is like a miniature copy of the actual scene. Most people use a shoe-box or some sort of display to create the three dimensional effect! It’s a great DIY project if you’re interested!

Leave a Reply

